Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Share dividends v reinvesting in the business?
Aminatidi
Posted: 24 May 2018 08:37:11(UTC)

Was thanked: 116 time(s) in 71 post(s)
I'm reading Buffettology and one of the things Buffett is keen on is companies that reinvest profits into the business rather than pay a dividend.

So as I understand it, rather than the company paying you a 4% dividend, they put that money into the business and if you need the income you just draw 4%.

It seems to divide opinion on here, with some people liking dividends and others taking the "Buffett" view.

One piece that particularly stood out is that many companies apparently keep paying a dividend whilst taking on company debt, and whilst I'm very new to this that didn't feel entirely right.

Be interested to understand some individual perspectives.
1 user thanked Aminatidi for this post.
Dian on 25/05/2018(UTC)
dyfed
Posted: 24 May 2018 09:29:52(UTC)

Was thanked: 587 time(s) in 241 post(s)
In principle if u r a CEO looking after the best interests of your company, staff and shareholders:
- if the company has good growth opportunities it should re-invest for the future rather than pay a dividend now
- if the company is mature and doesn't need that much cash for R&D or growth it should pay out profits as divi
- don't pay dividends with borrowed cash

However, a company may want to keep it's shareholders on side through periods when it shouldn't pay a divi according to the above. Why? It may want to raise cash from them in the future for example.

Unfortunately, there are sometimes performance targets around share price and divi that push a CEO to act against what I would consider the companies best interests.