Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

International or UK Equity
Samual Saunders
Posted: 20 April 2018 10:39:23(UTC)

Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 12 post(s)
I am very new to this and a bit late at 77yo, but have been dealing with my own Sipp with HL since investing my pensions back in 2010. I moved £100k to Drawdown in 2013 and took the 25% cash tax free and have only drawn about 35k by the odd lump sums as other assets have gradually been used and we have state pensions of £27k between my wife and self

Initially I had a selection of Invesco Perpetual, High Income, Managed, Distribution etc but although the growth has been 'conservative', I have not paid too much attention to it other than switching within the initial selection.

Looking at this forum and others, I realise that I should have given this more attention and have now just sold my present holdings and moved into 5 funds with an overall of 36% International Equity, 24% UK Equity, Int Bonds 20%, UK Bonds 12% and bits.

The new funds are with LF Lindsell Train UK Equity and their Global Equity, Artemis High Income, and their Strategic Bond and J O Hambro UK Equity.

In general I'm looking to grow the present pot (£362k in all) a little more than with the previous funds and although selling off when the values are a little lower is not wise, I hope to get the advantage of buying in to other funds at the right time, but unsure if International Equity or UK equity should be best.

Understanding that values go up and down all the time, I am not overly concerned about that but did wonder if I had either not selected enough other funds or should have fewer.