Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Fully Diversified ETF Portfolio
Investor2017
Posted: 20 November 2017 15:31:27(UTC)

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi Guys,

I'm 30 years old and am looking to start investing my money (around 50K) in a fully diversified ETF Portfolio and hold it & add to it for many years. I'm kind of new to investments but lately I read a lot on how to diversify such a portfolio by including;

Stocks ETFs (US, Non US & Emerging Markets), (mid-cap & small-cap)
Bonds ETFs ( US, Non US & Emerging Markets)
Property ETF
Commodities ETF
Gold ETF

Given the current global economic situation where all prices are high and some investors are talking about being cautious, bubbles and potential crises, I'm a bit worried to get in the market at this time and end up buying at the tip.

What do you think about this and which ETF from the above mentioned (or others) will you start buying at this moment.

I'm looking forward to read your recommendations & suggestions.
Hank Elvis Dobbs (texan)
Posted: 20 November 2017 18:42:03(UTC)

Was thanked: 61 time(s) in 39 post(s)
Howdy...Don't
Tim D
Posted: 20 November 2017 18:58:54(UTC)

Was thanked: 291 time(s) in 136 post(s)
Don't know if you're familiar with the Harry Browne "permanent portfolio", or the idea of "total market" (over *all* investable assets) investing? Couple of interesting threads touching on the topic here at https://moneyforums.city...-IT-Fund-Portfolio.aspx and http://moneyforums.cityw...st4470_ETF-of-ETFs.aspx .

I did actually start my own version of a Permanent Portfolio after that:
* 25% Global Stocks: VRXXB
* 25% Precious Metals: PHPP (not just gold; a basket with silver, platinum etc)