Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

First investment
Andreas Espersen
Posted: 16 October 2017 12:15:54(UTC)

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi There

My name is Andreas and I am 20 years old.

I have saved up quite a lot of money over the last 2 years for someone my age and I am now at the point where I don't know what to do with it.

I want to invest some of it in stocks in order for me to have something to fall back on in the future. I want to make money and I know it takes time.

So my question is how do I find my first investment, I am completely new to this and want to learn, I know of the consequences of losing money which is why I want advice instead of just investing for the sake of investing.

If anyone could spare any of their time to help me, it would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Andreas
2 users thanked Andreas Espersen for this post.
c brown on 20/10/2017(UTC), Dian on 20/10/2017(UTC)
william barnes
Posted: 20 October 2017 12:23:51(UTC)

Was thanked: 22 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Hi your vague.
How much are u investing,for how long and are you adding to it and also have you taken out an is a or supposed etc ?
Gav
R kunzmann
Posted: 20 October 2017 12:39:42(UTC)

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi Andreas,

You're probably in the same place I was five years ago - I knew I had to take charge of my money to make a success of it; I did't know the difference between an open ended fund vs. closed ended investment trust, or even that there was a difference between a share and a mutual fund. The best advice I ever got from my parents was open a money market saving account, buy a property and pay into a pension. Problem is, the first pension I got into was a horror story.