Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

New to long term Investing
RFE
Posted: 14 September 2017 17:28:48(UTC)

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hi everyone,
I've been reading this Forum for a couple of months and have found some helpful advice along the way so I finally decided to take the plunge and join.
I am rather new to long term investing, I've dabbled in some Forex and Day trading over the years (not very sucessfully) and decided I don't have the knack or temperment for it. I've recently moved to the UK and have opened an ISA with AJ Bell. I have about 12K that I can invest this year. I have been researching lots of Stocks, Funds, Trusts etc.. with the help of Share Pad, Morningstar and Investing Forums. I've narrowed down my list to about 30 vehicles, a mix of Shares, OEIC's, Trusts and a couple of wildcards from AIM. I'm sure the bubble won't last forever so I've tried to diversify my choices so when the downturn happens I won't be wiped out.
I'm really wondering if you can be overdiversified so my portfolio will never grow either in a Bull or Bear market? I made a Correlation chart in Excel based in the Yearly %TR over the last 10 years for my choices and it looks Ok (to me). I have purchaced a small amount of each to get a foundation (about 2k pounds) and will use the reinvestment option at AJ Bell to purchace the rest.
I was really confident in my selections untill it came time to "Pull the Trigger" and invest the remaining 10k. I will post a list of my purchaces and my Correlation chart and would love to get some feedback.

Tony Peterson
Posted: 15 September 2017 18:44:41(UTC)

Was thanked: 965 time(s) in 447 post(s)