Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Help understanding risk
jac79
Posted: 12 June 2017 17:09:41(UTC)

Hello all,

I am new to investing, and am in the process of setting up a SIPP for retirement. For simplicity I have decided to go for a Vanguard LifeStrategy fund, so now all I need to do is determine what ratio of equity to bonds I would like, i.e. the level of risk I can tolerate.

My previous understanding, having read 2 books on investments, was that bonds reduce the chances of losses over the short and long term. But then I came across this tool by Vanguard, which shows the benefit (or not) of moving away from 100% equity to include bonds. It appears to show that bonds only reduce volatility: the stocks never actually dip below the level of return offered by bonds.

Is this particular to this dataset, do you think, or is it usual behaviour?

The reason I'm asking is because the argument against 100% equity is that there could be a big dip in the markets just before you plan to retire, so you could feasibly have to wait another 15 years or whatever to retire until returns get back to normal. According to the Vanguard tool, however, you would appear to be no better off owning a portion of bonds.

Or am I missing something?

Any help much appreciated!

Jon
Stephen B.
Posted: 20 June 2017 15:58:20(UTC)

Was thanked: 98 time(s) in 49 post(s)