Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Blackrock Consensus 85 and diversifying
MunchyLee
Posted: 18 April 2017 15:22:49(UTC)

I am a newbie investor. I want to have a balance of say 3 funds containing indexes and bonds and avoid the charges and risks associated with managed funds. However, Im struggling to get a clear idea of the Blackrock Consensus fund 85 and what to do next.

Looking at the factsheet it seems to comprise a number of indexed/ trackers within it and isnt a managed fund per se. It appears to be 75 % stock indexes and another 25% bond indexes, with some 39% UK and 22% USA and the rest, well the rest of the world.

I called Blackrock now to confirm the above the customer services person didnt know and has to get back to me. (Oops!?)

My question is- what else should I do if this fund already appears balanced?

I was looking perhaps at the Vanguard Life Strategy 100% but that seems to be a very similar fund.

or even the Vanguard Global Bond index but why buy more bonds if they are already in Blackrock (although I want a higher % than 25%)

I am investing in the above via a Hargreaves and Landsdown SIPP

Thanks for any advice
Julian Wang
Posted: 20 April 2017 15:26:36(UTC)

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
If you just want an all in one simple index fund, its hard to beat Vanguard life strategy.

If you have a long horizon, 10+ years, go with either 80% or 100% equity. Higher the equity content, higher the long term expected return provided you can stomach the short term volatility. In fact if you invest regularly, you get to buy more with your contribution when the market is down.

Alternatively choose a Vanguard target retirement fund.