Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

HMRC phone scam. 'A lawsuit has been filed against you.'
J Thomas
Posted: 10 February 2017 14:40:58(UTC)

Was thanked: 274 time(s) in 117 post(s)
I would like to draw forum members attention to a particularly vile scam which is currently being operated by fraudsters.
My sister was phoned this morning by a 'lady' pertaining to be an HMRC case officer. The message was: 'This is Heather Gray, I am a case officer from Her Majesties Revenue and Customs, HMRC have filed a lawsuit in court against you. To discuss your case press 1'.
My sister panicked into pressing 1, a live person answered who informed her that that £9000 tax was due for year 2012/13 in the most serious tones, the money had to be paid at once or a warrant would be issued for her arrest. To avoid a 50% further penalty the money could be paid by instant bank transfer, or the bank account would be closed and the money taken out directly by HMRC, as the law had been changed allowing HMRC to do this.
My sister was in tears and very distressed, but fortunately hung up. The callers number was 02033895932, although the scammers use many different UK landline numbers to give the call extra validity. Researching this scam online it seems to be operated in the UK, although the initial message has a US accent.
Apparently this scam has already netted several million pounds for the fraudsters. They use shock and awe tactics to terrify callers into paying up instantly by phone before they realise they have been scammed.
The absolute scum of the Earth, please be aware.
34 users thanked J Thomas for this post.