Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Trail commission
Harmoney100
Posted: 13 December 2010 09:54:55(UTC)

Investment managers pay trail commission to intermediaries (IFA'S) who manage investments. I have over 30 years experience in the investment industry both as a professional and managing my own investments. I do not use an intermediary and would prefer not to. Fund mangers still charge trail commission and keep it for themselves; I question the morality of this. Is there anyway I can stop them doing this and stop them from charging for a service I do not receive and do not want?
Anonymous Post
Posted: 13 December 2010 13:13:23(UTC)
Anonymous 1 needed this 'Off the Record'

A number of Fund Managers have institutional classes of their funds which pay little or no trail. Unfortunately they usually have a high minmum investment, which may not suit or you would be unable to buy these typically these have an AMC of as little as 0.3%

Hargreaves Lansdown ( amongst others) rebate intiial charges on many funds which maybe as far as you can go in the pre RDR world
Ian Grumpy
Posted: 13 December 2010 13:17:56(UTC)

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I invest in funds via Alliance Trust Savings. They rebate all the initial charges and subsequent charges half yearly.
M H
Posted: 13 December 2010 13:19:52(UTC)