Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

What form of investment should I take for my family?
matt berry
Posted: 12 November 2012 17:12:11(UTC)

Hi Everyone,

I'm completely new to investing and would really appreciate a little advice if anyone can spare 5 minutes.

I'm looking to invest £5k per year for me and my wife and also £2k per year for my 2 year old daughter. Both investments will be long term and I'm willing to take on some risk with both funds.

Please give me your thoughts, but I am planning on a higher risk stratergy for both investments and I'm thinking of utilising an ISA and maybe investing in a global emeging market fund (maybe Aberdeen Asset).

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Matt
TJL
Posted: 12 November 2012 18:04:17(UTC)

Was thanked: 144 time(s) in 78 post(s)
This question could be debated until the cows come home.
Top of my head, in a nutshell response - emerging markets for your daughter, or a global fund or investment trust (lower costs). Aberdeen and First State (funds) are top performers as is Templeton (trust) long term.
For you and your wife - more complicated, endless possibilities!
£10k per year is 5 x £2k - the makings of a nice, well diversified portfolio.
Diversification is important, as is the compounding effect of dividends, and not least the long term effect of charges.
Tracker funds have very little cost, as do ETFs, investment trusts come next, then unit trusts - but you could go mad considering all the permutations of a proposed portfolio.
It's an educated gamble on the future anyway, so my opinion would be to stick with rated and regarded managers and get stuck in.