Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Is this will legit
Mike Paget
Posted: 31 May 2018 08:32:11(UTC)

Can you knock up a homemade will with the signatures from your children's partners as witnesses? So the parent of your grandchild. One who is living in the same house. Are these legit witnesses?

Been looking at a will and grant for a lady I worked with and who was blatantly manipulated by another woman to get on will
Keith Hilton
Posted: 31 May 2018 08:41:25(UTC)

Was thanked: 461 time(s) in 260 post(s)
I'm no expert, but I would say that if any of the beneficiaries (or their partners) are witnesses then the will is invalid.
Mr Helpful
Posted: 31 May 2018 08:51:03(UTC)

Was thanked: 899 time(s) in 423 post(s)
Keith Hilton;63171 wrote:
I'm no expert, but I would say that if any of the beneficiaries (or their partners) are witnesses then the will is invalid.

+!
Correct.
Tim D
Posted: 31 May 2018 08:57:50(UTC)

Was thanked: 699 time(s) in 312 post(s)
IANAL but the coop's legal service advises:

Quote:
We would always advise that the following people should not be your witnesses:

Family members
Your husband/wife or civil partner
Any of your beneficiaries, who are the people you intend to inherit from your Estate
The husband/wife or civil partner of a beneficiary in your Will
Anyone under the age of 18 years of age
Anyone who is blind or partially sighted
Anyone who does not have sufficient mental capacity to understand what they are witnessing