Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Investment Advice for a beginner
Tom Bards
Posted: 09 February 2018 09:21:11(UTC)

Was thanked: 116 time(s) in 66 post(s)
Hi all,

I am relatively new to investing, have read a lot about it and feel like I have a good grasp of most aspects of building a portfolio and investing for the long term.

With the latest market volatility my principle holding (SMT) has gone from around 6% up to 3-4% down in about a week. I understand corrections happen and I'm not too concerned but I wanted to ask to see what members think a good avenue to take from here is. Should I just hold it? or Buy more at a lower price when the funds become available? or Sell and cut my losses?

My investment horizon until retirement is 40 years.
1 user thanked Tom Bards for this post.
gillyann on 09/02/2018(UTC)
Keith Hilton
Posted: 09 February 2018 09:41:39(UTC)

Was thanked: 443 time(s) in 252 post(s)
I'd say to hold, but look to add if discount to NAV exceeds about 5%.

Hopefully though, you're not putting all your eggs in one basket.
Jim S
Posted: 09 February 2018 09:47:18(UTC)

Was thanked: 305 time(s) in 152 post(s)
Well, noone has a crystal ball about what will be happening to the SMT share price over the next days/weeks/months, likewise with global markets. I guess you need to ask yourself why you bought into SMT in the first place, look at its track record, and decide whether you are still confident in the fund manager to provide a good return going forward.
Some people will be seeing the recent market falls, & more specifically the SMT discount widening to 5%, as a buying opportunity.
Unless you have a strong reason to sell, it might be best just to sit tight & ignore the turbulence.