Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Simple Workplace pension advice sought
Micawber
Posted: 09 November 2017 16:25:18(UTC)

Was thanked: 2689 time(s) in 1018 post(s)
My youngest, who graduated this summer, has just started salaried employment. Her employer is a small concern, and not likely to be a lifetime employer. She has been asked whether she wants to enrol/opt out of the workplace scheme. I have asked her to get details of the employer contributions (probably the minimum), the provider, and any terms e.g. transfer terms. She has no other pension commitment at the moment. She has an investment ISA which I manage. I have no experience of wp pensions.

Questions:

- I assume a wp pension is a Good Thing (because of employer contributions)?

- any likely problems to cover in transferring from workplace to workplace, or does the employee simply collect many separate wp pensions through a working life? (Would seem clunky to me)

- if she is in a workplace pension, does this preclude or inhibit also taking out a SIPP (I never had a SIPP myself, so another new area for me)?

- if she chooses a SIPP are there likely to be an employer contributions to that in lieu of a wp pension? Or would she forego employer contributions?

Thanks.
Rishan
Posted: 09 November 2017 16:43:41(UTC)

Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 51 post(s)
I have been working for years, but only last month received my first ever workplace pension (now it's a legal requirement for all employers), so at the age of 36 I now have a pot of about £40!!!

1. I think so (free money plus tax relief)

2. Doesn't appear to be too difficult to transfer