Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Investment Trust Research
Chris Howland
Posted: 26 August 2017 15:30:59(UTC)

Was thanked: 24 time(s) in 9 post(s)
I've been investing in IT for about five years and have learned quite a bit along the way. Amongst the things I like about IT are their relatively finite number (<600), breadth of investment scope and the fact that you can invest in a 'basket' of shares without having to own them all yourself. Being able to sometimes buy a £1 of assets for a lot less than £1 is also attractive!

I invest for yield, and being retired I spend the proceeds (at least until the state pension kicks in).

I generally buy and hold, but do maintain the portfolio, pruning here and there when values have risen/fallen significantly and better opportunities present themselves. My 20 holdings were initially built around John Baron principles, but I've latterly moved away from simply copying his transactions.

My primary sources of investment information are:

www.morningstar.co.uk

Investors Chronicle (subscription)

www.trustnet.com

www.theaic.co.uk

I also receive trust analysis/research reports from:

Quoted Data (www.quoteddata.com)

Edison (www.edisoninvestmentresearch.com)

Kepler (www.trustintelligence.co.uk)

I wondered what others opinion is of these sources and whether they have additional sources of research/review that they could share?
5 users thanked Chris Howland for this post.
Vince. on 27/08/2017(UTC), Jim S on 27/08/2017(UTC), dlp6666 on 29/08/2017(UTC), Guest on 19/09/2017(UTC), m crawfy on 11/10/2017(UTC)
Betty G
Posted: 27 August 2017 07:59:12(UTC)

Was thanked: 77 time(s) in 31 post(s)
3 users thanked Betty G for this post.