Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Buying US shares using GBP
Gianmarco M.
Posted: 12 September 2017 12:28:55(UTC)

Hi,

I am new to investing and I have recently decided to invest in the stock market.

As a broker of choice I am using the Trading 212 platform, as they allow up to 10 trades per month for free. I have opened an account in GBP and bought some shares from the US market.

After some issues in trying to figure out how they calculate my profit/loss I have finally got an explanation.
They use the initial GBP value and the final GBP value. In this way, my profit/loss is highly influenced by the GBP/USD exchange ratio.

I will make an example for clarity:

1 bought 1 US share of ABC for 700 GBP, that at that time was 915.16 USD (GBP/USD 1.308).

One week later the share value has increased to 920 USD, but at the same time GBP/USD has raised to 1.327. Thus 920 USD are now 693 GBP.

Now, by calculating profit/loss using USD vale, there would be a profit of 5 USD, that would be 3,77 GBP.

However, by using the GBP, the P/L is 693 GBP (current value) - 700 GBP (initial value) = 7 GBP loss.

My question are:
Is this a common and fair way of calculating profit when trading with GBP on the US market?
Would it be better for me to just open an account in USD instead (to trade on the US market)?

Any suggestion is highly appreciated.

Best
GM
PaulSh
Posted: 12 September 2017 13:13:48(UTC)

Was thanked: 90 time(s) in 47 post(s)
It's swings and roundabouts. Had the share price and currency movements been the other way around, you would have made a loss in USD but a profit in GBP.