Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Paying for IFA advice to transfer a 30k+ pension
john_r
Posted: 07 June 2017 23:03:21(UTC)

Was thanked: 168 time(s) in 83 post(s)
I have only just somehow stumbled into this forum and I gasp at some of the contributions I have read. Hope I haven't misunderstood.

I'm not a pensions expert BUT in my honest opinion the pension changes bought about by George Osborne are dictated by :....

1. The goverment IS NOT trying to provide a path out for Defined benefit pension holders because in most cases the defined benefit represents very good value and some would say you are crazy (except in unique special cases) to transfer out.

2. The goverment IS trying to give alternatives for the holders of defined contribution type pension pots (eg stakeholder / private pensions or company schemes which do not give a guaranteed benefit). The reason is that interest rates collapsed after Gordon Browns credit crunch. Goverment long term (15 year ) yield also collapsed. This means that normal annuity rates will be severely reduced for anyone forced into this route. So much so that the holders may be better off either withdrawing the money or transferring into a SIPP - if they have the financial nous to make it a success.
This advice for these type of pension holders is provided free.

I am not surprised that IFA's are reluctant to advise your defined benefit pension to be transferred out. Because you're most likely better off staying in.

PS: going back to the opening messages in this blog - I also believe HMRC do a fantastic job and will always give good advice about tax but obviously not about pensions.
1 user thanked john_r for this post.
Tim D on 08/06/2017(UTC)
xcity