Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Stock Advice (Halt)
db09striker
Posted: 11 March 2017 15:14:59(UTC)

Hi,

Just after some stock advice as I am new to the stock market.

There is a stock I am interested in. It is currently halted waiting for news to be released. The stock was halted on Thursday and Friday and there is potentially some very good news awaiting to come out, not necessarily in this news release, but something positive is likely in the near future. As with any halt the news could be good or bad this time...

1. Should I line-up an order to buy shares? Is it a first come first served type thing? So therefore I should set up an order so that I have a better chance of getting shares at the price I want?

2.Do stocks open at the same price as they were halted at? if so, and the news is positive - what are the chances that an order for the halted price go through? Say the stock was halted at $0.60 and I had an order waiting at $0.60, what is the likelihood of the order going through? Should I put a higher order in place of say $0.61 or $0.62? or higher?

3. If the news release comes on Monday and it's positive then I just watch and wait for my order to be filled. If it's negative then I just cancel the order before the stock is resumed.

How should I play this?

Thanks.

Keith Hilton
Posted: 11 March 2017 17:35:40(UTC)

Was thanked: 343 time(s) in 202 post(s)
1. That would be a gamble since the shares might tank, if the news is bad.

2. No.

3. Can you guarantee that you could cancel the order in time? You might be able to submit the request in time, but that doesn't mean it'll be actioned in time.