Share this page:
Stay connected:
Welcome to the Citywire Money Forums, where members share investment ideas and discuss everything to do with their money.

You'll need to log in or set up an account to start new discussions or reply to existing ones. See you inside!

Notification

Icon
Error

Spread prices
Clue Less
Posted: 20 September 2016 13:27:35(UTC)

Relatively new to stocks and shares and wonder if someone can advise me on why some spread prices are so wide.

Looking at investing in AIM company (Maintel holdings) . Think there might be a bargain there after the big drop yesterday. The problem is the bid price is 925 and the offer is 1025. that is a 10% difference and a lot to catch up on before it can go into profit. Perhaps prohibitively wide.

Is this unusual? I have not cone across it before but as I said I am new to this game. Noted that there were very few buyers, is this the reason and is it likely to change.

Any help would be gratefully received.

Law Man
Posted: 20 September 2016 16:01:07(UTC)

Was thanked: 263 time(s) in 109 post(s)
I believe the reason is "liquidity". When you sell a share, the market maker has to find someone to buy that share, and vice versa. (and make its profit).
If you offer to sell a share in She'll or HSBC Bank, the volume is so huge that there is always a buyer. Thus the 'spread' will be tiny.
Conversely, if you sell a share in Midget Plc on AIM, there are few buyers; so the market makers needs a good margin.
2 users thanked Law Man for this post.
Clue Less on 20/09/2016(UTC), pete rich on 20/09/2016(UTC)
martin verlaine
Posted: 20 September 2016 16:05:59(UTC)

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 6 post(s)